un voyage gastronomique

the world is your platter

Momofuku Noodle Bar: More Than Just Noodles

By Sotong

Second day in Toronto. My bro and I decided to head to David Chang’s Momofuku Noodle Bar (the gigantic, heavy wooden doors right next to the entrance of Shangri-La Hotel) for lunch. As we went after the afternoon rush hour, we were seated immediately and service was quick (food served within 15 minutes).

To start off our meal, we had Pork Buns. Pork slices bundled together with cucumber and scallions coated in Hoisin sauce in a soft, steamed bun. Do not underestimate these cute, simple-looking buns ’cause you will be overawed by them.  Pork was tender and moist and the cucumbers added some crunch to the overall flavor. Awesome combination.

SteamedPorkBun

For mains, we had the Momofuku Ramen. Chewy noodles bathed in thick broth accompanied by slices of pork shoulder and strips of pork belly, fishcakes, kimchi, seaweed and well-poached egg.  The fat on the pork shoulder literally melts in your mouth. Downside to this bowl is I find it a little salty. I usually eat quite bland at home, so I confirmed with my brother and he agreed with me on this.

MomfukuRamen

Besides that, we also had the Roasted Rice Cake. Roasting instead of using the traditional broiling/braising method adds a different twist to this Korean dish in terms of texture. When I was mixing the ingredients together, I thought the rice cakes would be hard. But I was wrong, so wrong. The fragrance of the sesame and green onion filled my mouth as I mouthed the rice cakes that had a soft shell-like exterior yet chewy interior. Spiciness level was tolerable. Yes, I come from Malaysia where nearly every dish is spicy and so some of you might think, ‘O if a Malaysian girl says it’s tolerable for her, then it must be super spicy for me!’ BUT I’d have to admit that my spiciness tolerance level has dropped after spending 2 years here in Canada. I’d rate the spiciness level a ‘1’, on a scale of 0 mild-3 very spicy.

RoastedToppoki

RoastedToppoki2

If I decide to revisit Momofuku, it’ll be for the pork buns and I’ll probably try something else on the menu…

Food: 4/5

Ambience: 3.5/5

Service: 3.5/5

Price: $10-20

Momofuku Noodle Bar on Urbanspoon

One comment on “Momofuku Noodle Bar: More Than Just Noodles

  1. Pingback: Ramen Misoya | un voyage gastronomique

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2013 by in East Asian, Toronto and tagged , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

